UAE bans 20 African countries from visiting Dubai

UAE bans 20 African countries from visiting Dubai

The United Arab Emirates (UAE) announced a visa ban for nationals of 20 African countries wishing to travel to Dubai, with immediate effect, DW Africa reported.

These countries include Ghana, Sierra Leone, Sudan, Cameroon, Nigeria, Liberia, Burundi, Republic of Guinea, Gambia, Togo, Democratic Republic of Congo, Senegal, Benin, Ivory Coast, Congo, Rwanda, Burkina Faso, Guinea Bissau, Comoros and Uganda.

One of the reasons given for the ban is that many who arrive on visit visas end up staying in the country illegally while working, without legalizing their stay, according to the Germany-based outlet.

This is not the first time Ghana and other African countries have been barred from travelling to Dubai.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *